It All Started With A Notebook, A Pen, A Camera, And A Dog

This is the third post in an ongoing series called Meet the Folks! – A look at the people behind the scenes at Story.

I (Mary)  founded Story Preservation in 2010. It started simply as an outgrowth of my irrepressible interest in people’s life stories.

That interest has always been a large part of who I am going back to my twenties when I would call people up on the phone and ask, “Can I meet you?” More times than not, the answer was “Yes.”  So, I’d load the pup in the car – and off we’d go!

Some of my earliest interviews: an Olympic biathlete; a Shaker basket maker; a Colonel in the WWII 329th Infantry Unit that was nicknamed The Rag Tag Circus; a group of environmentalists who re-nested sea turtle eggs. There were few stones left unturned.

Screen Shot 2015-10-17 at 9.11.37 AM

.

.

.

.

To listen to a brief segment (3:12) on why / how I founded Story on New Hampshire Public Radio, go to: http://nhpr.org/topic/inspired-lives   “In Her Own Words”

I currently serve as Vice Chair and president.

Leave a Reply

