Small blessings

I have to tell you, I’m getting quite popular.  Since starting Story Preservation, I’ve been invited to more celebrations and events than I have in a very long time. As I work mostly with seniors, I have been to several 80th and 90th birthday celebrations as well as family events.  When I meet with people to record their life stories, a bond seems to form between us.  I am, after all, present as events of personal significance – both large and small – are recounted.  And, more often than not, relived.

I gave my telephone and contact information to a fellow that  I recently worked with.  Unfortunately, after I left, he misplaced it.  After quite some time of looking, it turned up.   But he was so concerned about misplacing it again that he took a pin and stuck it onto the shade of the lamp that is placed on the table next to where he sits.

In all my years of doing … whatever it is I’ve been doing … to the best of my knowledge, no one has considered my contact information to be that important.

Many, many nice things have happened to me over the course of my life.  I consider this to be one of them.

Getting to know the people that I have had the privilege to record has been a blessing to me.

Leave a Reply

